Giveaway week – A Patient Fury Day #5

It’s the final day of the giveaway week to celebrate the publication of A Patient Fury.  I occasionally review classic crime on Crimepieces and collect the green vintage penguins. A picture of one of my bookcases in on the right. Inevitably, despite keeping a list of my collection, I often end up with duplicates. I’m giving away five classic Penguins in today’s competition written by Wilkie Collins, Simenon, Agatha Christie, Arthur Conan Doyle and Margery Allingham.

For aficionados the complete list is:

Lord Edgware Dies by Agatha Christie (no.685)

Mystery Mile by Margey Allingham (no.761)

The Case Book of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle (no.805)

The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins (no.1072)

The Hatters Ghost’s by George Simenon (no. 1456)

As with the previous days, to enter the giveaway, all you need to do is ‘like’ my Facebook page

 

 

and sign-up to my newsletter below.

 

 

That’s it! If you’ve already signed up to receive my newsletter, then simply leave a comment below telling me who your favourite classic crime author is.

The competition will be open until tonight Friday evening (the 8th) at 6pm BST when I’ll be drawing ALL the winners for the week and I’ll announce them here. The competition is open to entries worldwide.  Good luck and don’t forget to check out the previous competitions this week.

Thanks to everyone who’s taken part this week and made publication so memorable.

***The competition is now closed. Congratulations to winner Linda Cunningham. Thanks to everyone who took part.***

Advertisements

Giveaway week – A Patient Fury Day #4

Today is hardback publication day of A Patient Fury. There’s nothing like having a physical book in your hands and it was very exciting to open the box sent to me by my publishers, Faber and Faber. A Patient Fury is  the story of a deadly house fire in Derbyshire and a mother believed responsible for  killing her entire family. However, there appears to be fourth figure in the shadows. Could the disappearance of Elizabeth Winson in 1980 have anything to do the murder of her husband’s new family?

To celebrate, I’m giving away two hardback sets of my books: one for a UK reader and the other for a reader outside the UK.

As with the previous days, to enter the giveaway, all you need to do is ‘like’ my Facebook page

 

 

and sign-up to my newsletter below.

 

 

That’s it! If you’ve already signed up to receive my newsletter, then simply leave a comment below telling me who your favourite British crime author is.

The competition will be open until Friday evening (the 8th) at 6pm BST when I’ll be drawing ALL the winners for the week and I’ll announce them here. The competition is open to entries worldwide.  Good luck and don’t forget to check out the previous competitions this week. Here’s a glimpse of what’s coming tomorrow.

 

 

 

 

*** The competition is now closed. Congratulations to winners Peggy in the US and Sheila Howes. Thanks to all who entered and for all the best wishes on publication day.***

Giveaway week – A Patient Fury Day #3

Regular readers of this blog will know I’m a big fan of translated crime fiction and Nordic noir in particular. Today, to celebrate the publication of A Patient Fury, I’m giving away a set of the Martin Beck books by Maj Sjöwall and Per Wahlöö. Published between 1965 and 1975, the books have been a huge influence on many writers. This edition has introductions from authors such as Henning Mankell and Colin Dexter and when placed together spell the name of their detective across the spine. It’s a lovely set and a duplicate of the ones I already have. I’ll also throw in a packet of Scandi chocolates for liquorice fans.

We’ve just opened entires for the 2018 Petrona Award for Translated Scandinavian Crime Fiction and I’m looking forward to reading the entries.

As with the previous days, to enter the giveaway, all you need to do is ‘like’ my Facebook page

 

 

 

and sign-up to my newsletter below.

 

 

That’s it! If you’ve already signed up to receive my newsletter, then simply leave a comment below telling me who your favourite Nordic author is.

The competition will be open until Friday evening (the 8th) at 6pm BST when I’ll be drawing ALL the winners for the week and I’ll announce them here. The competition is open to entries worldwide.  Good luck and here’s a glimpse of what’s on offer for the rest of the week:

Thursday

 

 

 

Friday

***The competition is now closed. Congratulations to winner Victoria Goodbody. Thanks for all the entries and it’s great to hear of Henning Mankell’s enduring appeal.’

Giveaway week – A Patient Fury Day #2

IMG_1103The e-book of A Patient Fury is out today!

To celebrate, I’m giving away the audio books of my first two DC Childs novels In Bitter Chill and A Deadly Thaw. Whole Story Audio at F W Howse have kindly donated the CDs for this competition and thanks to the lovely Ellis Moore for arranging for this. Audio books are becoming increasingly popular, I’m a big fan and listen to my favourite authors when I’m pottering around the house.

As yesterday, to enter the giveaway, all you need to do is ‘like’ my Facebook page

 

 

 

and sign-up to my newsletter below.

 

 

That’s it! If you’ve already signed up to receive my newsletter, then simply leave a comment below telling me what your favourite audio book is.

The competition will be open until Friday evening (the 8th) at 6pm BST when I’ll be drawing ALL the winners for the week and I’ll announce them here. The competition is open to entries worldwide.  Good luck and here’s a glimpse of what’s on offer for the rest of the week:

Wednesday

 

 

 

Thursday

 

 

 

 

Friday

 

 

 

 

 

***The competition is now closed. Congratulations to winner Dave Gibson. Thanks to all who took part. I loved reading about your favourite audio books.***

Giveaway week – A Patient Fury Day #1

It’s publication week for my new crime novel, A Patient Fury. It comes out in e-book tomorrow and hardback on Thursday. To celebrate, I’m doing a giveaway each day until Friday of various books connected to my reviews and writing including, of course, my own novels. I’ll still be posting my reviews – I have one coming tomorrow but I though it’d be nice to celebrate too.

Today, as promised, I’m giving away a bundle of four proofs that I reviewed last week.The books are published in 2018 so the lucky winner will get early sight of these excellent crime novels by Eva Dolan, Cara Hunter, Roz Watkins and Karen Ellis. Today’s giveaway is to celebrate book reviewers who do a sterling job to promote authors and reading in general. It’s the start of the blog tour for A Patient Fury today and I’m very grateful for the support of the bloggers involved. I’ll be posting the reviews on my Facebook page.

To enter the giveaway, all you need to do is ‘like’ my Facebook page

 

 

and sign-up to my newsletter below.

 

 

That’s it! If you already receive my newsletter, then simply leave a comment below telling me what your favourite read of 2017 is so far.

The competition will be open until Friday evening (the 8th) at 6pm BST when I’ll be drawing ALL the winners for the week and I’ll announce them here. The competition is open to entries worldwide.  Good luck and here’s a glimpse of what’s on offer for the rest of the week:

Tuesday

 

 

 

Wednesday

 

 

 

Thursday

 

 

 

 

Friday

 

 

 

 

**** The competition is now closed. Congratulations to winner Sue Leavey. Thanks to all who took part. I loved reading about your favourite book this year.*****

A short interlude

I’m aware that it’s over three weeks since I last posted on Crimepieces.  First of all, to make my excuses, here’s what I’ve been up to. I’ve been finishing the first draft of my fourth book. The photo doesn’t give much away, I’m afraid, even the title but it’ll be the fourth book in my DC Connie Childs series. The narrative is split between the present day and the 1950s and it’s been fascinating to research this interesting decade.

At Crimefest in Bristol the 2017 Petrona Award for Scandinavian crime fiction was presented to Gunnar Staalesen for Where Roses Never Die. A really excellent book. I’ve now started to read for the 2018 award, beginning with The Thirst by Jo Nesbo. It’s a substantial book at 537 pages and Nesbo is always eminently readable. Translated by Neil Smith, the prose has you turning the page but, be warned, it’s the most violent Nesbo yet. The killer has a way of dispatching his victims that’s gruesome in the extreme and Nesbo cleverly uses the rise of social media, and Tinder in particular, to frightening effect. Lovers of Harry Hole will  be delighted but it won’t be for everyone.

I’ve also read two new books, one coming later this month and one early next year. Both were excellent. Kathy Reichs is best known for her series featuring forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan. Two Nights marks a departure for her.  Her new protagonist, Sunnie Knight, is an ex police officer who is hired by a wealthy woman looking for her granddaughter. A bomb explosion killed other members of the family but the girl was lost in the confusion. Sunny heads to Chicago with enemies on her trail to track down the girl. The book is different in style and tone from Reich’s other books and is perfect for fans of Sue Grafton and Sara Paretsky. Her new protagonist will easily carry a new series and I’m looking forward to reading more. Two Nights is out on the 29th June.

I then had a reading break as a number of books I picked up were put down again, unable to get beyond the first couple of pages. We all go through reading slumps like this, I guess. However, mine was revived by an excellent book, The Confession by Jo Spain. It’s a bit naughty including it here, as it’s not out until next year but it really is excellent. A woman watches her husband being brutally attacked and the next day the assailant hands himself in. We know who did it but not why and the narrative gradually reveals the reason behind the attack. I won’t say any more except that you’re in for a treat next year.  It was a delight to read. You can follow Jo Spain on Twitter @SpainJoanne.

I hope I’ve managed to pique your interest about some of these books including mine! We’ve three months to wait until A Patient Fury is out but I have some lovely things happening around that time. More soon.

I’ll also be appearing this month in the British Library at the Bodies from the Library event to talk about Elizabeth Daly. I’m a big fan and if any readers of Crimepieces are too do please let me know.

Cover Reveal: A Patient Fury

Here’s the gorgeous cover for my new book, A Patient Fury, coming out on the 7th September.

Three bodies are discovered after a house fire, a family obliterated. Their deaths all seem to point to one conclusion: one mother, one murderer. But DC Childs, determined as ever to discover the truth behind the tragedy, realises it is the fourth body – the one they cannot find – that holds the key to the mystery at Cross Farm Lane.

A Patient Fury is available for pre-order at Amazon and, of course, your local bookshop. I’ve had a couple of lovely messages from booksellers who have very early proofs to say that they’ve enjoyed reading the latest Bampton book. I hope you enjoy it too!